Tuesday, February 5, 2013

AGM 2013

The Cork Chapter held its Annual General Meeting at its regular Togher venue just before Christmas.  After receiving the usual reports from the Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer we got down to the business of electing officers and a committee to direct us through what promises to be a very busy year for 2013. 
There was little change to the Executive with John Ahern, Charley McCarthy, John O’Shea and Bill O’Mahony being re-elected unopposed to the positions of Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Librarian respectively.  Seamus Healy took over the job of Competitions Secretary and Michael Pattwell was chosen to fill the newly created position of P.R.O.

John O’Shea, John Ahern, Charley McCarthy

There were some changes to the committee with some of the older members deciding, for various personal reasons, to take a back seat for a while.  The new committee members are, Tony Farrell, Brian Goulding, Kieran Higgins, David Lee, Brian McAdoo, Jim O’Donovan and Marea Power.

There was unanimous approval for the awarding of the annual Michael Box (Chairman’s) Trophy to John O’Shea in recognition of his consistently outstanding woodturning during the year.

John O Shea being presented with the Chairman's trophy

During a break for refreshments, delicious Christmas fare, we took the opportunity to view a large display of the members work.  Such was the enthusiasm that several pieces went home with fingerprint stains of mince pies.  Peter Manning’s lidded boxes generated much comment and several members declared an intention to replicate them.

Peter Manning’s lidded boxes

Some of the members’ work on display.

After the tea break we broke up into three groups to discuss programme ideas for the forthcoming year and in the feedback that followed many excellent projects were discussed and approved